Review of Halloween H20: 20 Years Later (1998)

14 Apr

Halloween H20: 20 Years Later (1998) is a slasher/horror/thriller film and the seventh film in the Halloween movie franchise, which marks the return of Jamie Lee Curtis.

Directed by Steve Miner (Friday the 13th Part III (1982), Forever Young (1992)).

Written by Robert Zappia (5ive Days to Midnight (2004 mini-series), Christmas Is Here Again (2007)) and Matt Greenberg (1408 (2007), Reign of Fire (2002)).

Starring: Jamie Lee Curtis, Josh Hartnett, Chris Durand, Adam Arkin, Michelle Williams, LL Cool J and others.

So it opens with a great opening sequence, where as an instant mood setter „Mr. Sandman” by The Chordettes is used. Fallen leaves, a nice 50’s song and a pumpkin being violently carved. The mood is set at the perfect balance of innocence and violence.

A middle-aged nurse arrives at her house, when she understands somebody has broken in, she goes to her neighbour’s and gets two boys, Joseph Gordon-Levitt and nobody. Levitt appears with a hockey mask. Oh, I wonder what that is referencing so subtly? Maybe I should ask Steve Miner, the director of two Friday the 13th movies? They check out the house, don’t find any tall man in a Shatner mask, so they leave. Needless to say the nurse is fucked.

Then we get a title card and I just have to comment on this. This is might be the most idiotic title they could’ve come up with. I know it’s the nineties, when the trend of poor literacy being cool really started, but seriously, what the fuck is that? H20: 20 Years Later. The „H20” makes it look like the chemical formula for water or the 20th Halloween movie there is. I suppose it sounds a bit like „age 20”, but if the „H20” makes it so clear why do we have this „20 Years Later” shit added, in case you still don’t get it?

We get back Jamie Lee Curtis and she has a son now and she is also his teacher. People say the filmmakers ignored parts 3-6, but I say Laurie Strode is an asshole and chose to have a son instead of a daughter. A young Michelle Williams is cute as her son’s girlfriend. Besides Curtis we see her real life mother Janet Leigh not being stabbed in the shower.

This movie is really a surprising one, when else do you get to see the 7th movie in a slasher franchise, that is not totally absurd, doesn’t have bad acting and tries to be a legitimate mainstream movie. I guess when you ignore four of the six movies in the franchise. And I suddenly realised that this exact same thing applies to the A Nightmare On Elm Street franchise as well.

Ok, so a long story short, Curtis is now a paranoid alcoholic, seeing Michael Myers everywhere and pouring wine down her throat. Her son and his friends are having a little party. You guessed it, it is going to be interrupted by Michael. There’s one guy who deserved it for riding an old service kitchen elevator. Which then is surpassed by the classic stroke of genius in sticking your fingers in the sink’s garbage disposal. Laurie can’t help to rescue her son’s friends from their stupidity, but she can try to rescue her son from Michael, so finally in the last 20 years there actually is a reason to act insane and she goes after Michael with her „I told you so… for the last 20 years… What? You don’t believe me? Who the fuck is „the boy who cried wolf”?” face.

So Michael is back and despite being even older than Curtis in what I call her lesbo-hair stage of life, he can keep lifting people up and even more, lift himself completely above a pipe, on which he is holding with one hand and somehow then slowly and silently descend himself behind Curtis’ back. You could say, he’s in the best shape of his life. See what I did there?

I’d say that this time Michael’s last „death” is pretty cool and probably should be considered the definitive end of him, although as we all know there is this one last sequel, who did a lot of things and none of them good.

Overall, a decent Halloweenmovie, I think one, that even non-Halloween fans might enjoy, although for me, except for the ending, it seemed to lack impact and for most of it was still kind of bland. Recommended, still one of the best slashers the 90’s have to offer.

At least I'm not the only one who thinks that Jamie Lee Curtis with each year looks more like an old man.

7 Responses to “Review of Halloween H20: 20 Years Later (1998)”

  1. Aloha Mister Hand April 14, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

    Great job!! I definitely love this one, and do not consider the next sequel as a movie at all. For me, this is the end, AND IT’S AWESOME. 🙂 Bout time you reviewed somethin’! LOL
    Hey, by the way, not to be completely annoying, but have you taken the survey on my page? It’s for one of my classes, and I need as many surveys filled out as I can….hope you’ll do it, thanks! 😀

    • karlails April 14, 2012 at 11:09 pm #

      Thanks, yeah, I don’t want to see Resurrection ever again.
      No, I haven’t taken the survey, but sure I’ll do it.

      • Aloha Mister Hand April 14, 2012 at 11:20 pm #

        Haha, I know, Resurrection is the biggest piece of junk I’ve ever seen, and that’s definitely saying something! Are you going to review Zombie’s Halloween 1 & 2? Thank you so much for taking my survey 🙂 I hadn’t got enough paper surveys, so I thought I’d put it online, lol. It’s much appreciated!

        • karlails April 14, 2012 at 11:27 pm #

          Well, you can expect the Resurrection review sometime next week.
          I think I’ve reviewed Zombie’s Halloween 2 already some time ago. The first one I probably won’t do, at least not for some time, but I can say that I liked it a lot, Daeg Faerch was awesome.
          I’m glad to help.

          • Aloha Mister Hand April 14, 2012 at 11:29 pm #

            Awesome! Yeah, I eviscerated it on my review. It’s horrendous. Oh, you did? Hmm, I must have missed it, or I don’t remember. Ha, who knows? 🙂 Daeg Faerch was awesome, and it’s great that you can spell his name, most people can’t, lmao! :high five:

            • karlails April 14, 2012 at 11:37 pm #

              Yeah, we are members of the very small “spell Daeg Faerch’s name right” club. I checked, I have done Halloween 2, it’s one of my January reviews.

              • Aloha Mister Hand April 14, 2012 at 11:39 pm #

                Oh, okay cool! 🙂
                Yep, that’s right! LMAO, ya crack me up!

Leave a Reply

