Review of Julie & Julia (2009)

31 Mar

Julie & Julia (2009) is a biography/romance/dramedy film about the real-life chef Julia Child and a blogger Julie Powell.

Directed by Nora Ephron (This Is My Life (1992), Bewitched (2005)).

Written by Nora Ephron (Silkwood (1983), Hanging Up (2000)).

Starring: Meryl Streep, Amy Adams, Stanley Tucci, Chris Messina, Jane Lynch and others.

You might ask why I’m reviewing this movie? Well, because in a way it is a horror movie. It’s about a huge and demented Meryl Streep destroying lives… sort of.

Right at the start I have to say that I totally understand that I am not the target demographic for this movie, but then again, I think a good movie can be enjoyed by anyone. However, I definitely did not.

The movie is split into two storylines. One is about Julia Child becoming a cook and writing a cook-book in the 50’s. And the other one is about Julie some-last-name, who is writing a blog about cooking everything in Child’s cook-book. Isn’t that an exciting premise? No, it is not. Due to having these two storylines it is way too long for a romantic comedy. And too short for a biographical drama.

Main problem of this movie is that neither Julia or Julie are likable. Julia is just loud, obsessive, insensitive, self-centered and overall obnoxious, although Meryl Streep does make her at times charming and the tallness is definitely done very convincingly. And Julie is a whiny, obsessive, self-centered and hysterical bitch. No wonder Julie idolizes Julia that much.

When Julie starts her blog she writes that she doesn’t know if anyone reads her posts. What kind of blog site is she using? Wewonttellyouifyougetanyviewsorcomments.com? And you’d think that her being a blogger would have helped me identify with her, but I really don’t care about a relatively wealthy 30-year-old woman, who is obsessed with Julia Child and moaning all the time with tears in her eyes. She is a person I would hate in real life. To give her credit she does admit she is a bitch.

So I was left to identify with the husbands, who are in both cases very supportive, normal and nice and have egocentric wives.

Closest I got to an emotional response was when I started feeling hungry or that one scene when the characters are watching a funny SNL sketch on TV.

It is in a way a success story, but it lacks any impact. Oh, you live in a cool apartment in New York and have enough money to keep making these exquisite foods every day? That’s so awful, I hope you’ll get a publishing deal, so you can start living a normal life.

Overall, this movie is shit. Not entertaining, not moving, not funny, not worth seeing.

"Yeah, that's right, what's for dinner, you self-absorbed bitch?"

 

5 Responses to “Review of Julie & Julia (2009)”

  1. curiousitykitty March 31, 2012 at 10:55 pm #

    Even though I did enjoy good portions of this film (urgh, even I disgust myself with foodie puns – they shall stop here), your review did make me laugh more than I probably should have. I completely agree that Julie was an infuriating person, and there were parts when I wanted to reach into the screen and slap some sense into her. But Meryl Streep’s Julia… She was hilarious! I’m a huge fan of Stanley Tucci (I haven’t seen him disappoint yet), and I just wanted to see them onscreen together for the entire film. Still, I loved your take on the movie, and it felt good to see some frustration I was also feeling put into words.

    • karlails April 1, 2012 at 10:59 am #

      Thanks, to be fair, I also like Tucci and Streep and basically all the actors in the main roles, but still I was pissed off by the movie, so I wouldn’t blame them for it.

  2. Aloha Mister Hand April 3, 2012 at 6:27 am #

    Good post….couldn’t tell if you liked the movie or not? LOL kidding! What I did see of this was okay, I’m not into a lot of feel-good movies, but it wasn’t horrible. You’re right though, sometimes the characters were infuriating!

    • karlails April 3, 2012 at 9:39 am #

      Thanks. Well, I don’t think it is horrible, but it has a very specific audience and I might have come across a bit harsh to add some comedic value, because what are negative reviews for if not to make fun of movies.

      • Aloha Mister Hand April 3, 2012 at 9:43 am #

        Haha, I know! You’re totally right, it is a specific audience these types of films go for!

Leave a Reply

