Review of Blood Diamond (2006)

19 Dec

Blood Diamond (2006) is an action/drama/thriller film, set in Africa during the Sierra Leone Civil War.

Directed by Edward Zwick (The Last Samurai (2003), Defiance (2008)), who has been often praised for his epic movies, that frequently deal with various political, social or racial issues.

Written by Charles Leavitt (The Sunchaser (1996), The Express (2008)), who researched and rewrote the script, after it had been undeveloped for years.

Starring: Leonardo DiCaprio, Jennifer Connely, Djimon Hounsou, Kagiso Kuypers, Arnold Vosloo and others.

For a change I’ll start with the acting. DiCaprio is a very solid actor and here he proves that once again. He does what I thought was a pretty decent African accent, but I didn’t get why the thickness of it kept varying, I guess it was switching between dialects, which in that case is well done. Jennifer Connely is hot as hell in this, I just love me some full eyebrows. But she doesn’t get all that much screen time, but I don’t think the character asked for more anyway. Djimon Hounson is good, but I don’t have much else to say about his performance, it just was very believable. Arnold Vosloo isn’t a mummy in this movie.

There was some chilling stuff that all the blood diamond/crime kingpin gang war shit involved. Like they take some young boys from a village and chop one of their arms off with a machete. And since losing limbs is one of my biggest fears that’s kind of impactful. And the gangs take some other kids with them and train them a bit. So another powerful image are that of a bunch of 10-year-olds running around smoking and holding machine guns.

I loved this one line that is delivered by DiCaprio: “I like to get kissed before I get fucked.”, can’t wait for an opportunity to use this quote in a logical conversation.

I like this DiCaprio a lot more than that wimp from Titanic. He’s almost an action hero nowadays, only he’s also a good dramatic actor. Also in this movie his physique is really different. Up until this he’s been very thin and early 20’s looking, he’s like that in The Aviator and then he’s a bit more “heavy” in The Departed, but here he’s in good shape, but has put on some weight and in combination with his goatee he looks his actual age. But this doesn’t have much to do with this movie.

The action is overall well done, but it does this one thing all the time. It’s a really frantic situation, a total chaos and suddenly there’s a calm and simple resolution to the whole situation.

When I think of the film’s social or whatever commentary I realise that it is actually just a simple plot device to give Hounsou’s character some motivation. The film tries to make us think that it is more important and relevant than it actually is. The film is too stretched-out in an attempt to hide it basically being just an action thriller, behind some contrived political overtones.

The ending is this mixture of uplifting sadness and total implausibility, but I think it worked for me.

Overall, I don’t recommend this movie. I mean, it is a good movie. But if you want, you will watch it regardless, but I don’t think you would lose anything by not seeing it. It doesn’t need my recommendation, it is a well enough known film, so I’ll just give it my approval and not recommendation.

"It's huge.......that's what she said."

3 Responses to “Review of Blood Diamond (2006)”

  1. Aloha Mister Hand April 7, 2012 at 5:42 am #

    I liked this one, but it’s pretty depressing so definitely not one to watch often! Good review! And once again, I’m diggin’ the caption under the picture. Hilarious 🙂

    • karlails April 7, 2012 at 6:23 pm #

      Thanks, yeah, it’s a decent movie, but I wouldn’t really care to see it again. No matter how juvenile, “that’s what she said” jokes are still funny.

Leave a Reply

